How does your garden grow?

28 Jul

A couple of months ago, I finally got sick of spending money on herbs at the grocery store and decided to have a go a growing my own.  With very little effort, my herb garden has become quite the success.  I originally purchased these plants for $2 each at Lowes and since then I can’t imagine how much money I have saved.  Also, having fresh herbs around really allows me to whip up great dinners with what I have on hand.  Thus far, I have planted basil, rosemary, Greek oregano, parsley, cilantro and mint.  I would eventually like to add sage and chives.

Are you growing herbs? Which ones are your favorite/do you use the most?

4 Responses to “How does your garden grow?”

  1. Chef Dennis July 29, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    My garden does not grow very well this year, two of my tomato plants died and one is stunted….my grape tomato plants are huge…..I just dont know, and my basil is doing wonderful, I need to plant more herbs.

  2. RavieNomNoms August 2, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Basil is always a must! I can hardly cook without it in the summertime it seems like!! I like to have thyme and chives on hand as well. Looks like you have yourself a nice start!!

  3. A Teenage Gourmet August 3, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Thanks for the vegetarian burger recommendation! If you try my version, please let me know what you think. 🙂

  4. simplyshaka August 8, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    I was just thinking I need to buy some herbs and grow them on my own. It tastes even better from home and knowing that you are saving money!

Leave a Reply

