The Secret To My (Summer) Success: Iced Skinny Starbucks drinks on the cheap

20 Jul

I’m a bit of a Starbucks junkie.  Not such a great thing for the wallet (or the belly).  I decided long ago that if my Starbucks addiction was to continue, then I would need to figure out how to build my own lower-fat drinks that didn’t cost $5 a pop.  Since it’s summer and my drink list is forever evolving, I’ll share some of my current iced drink favorites.

Iced Coffee, Nonfat milk, shot of Toffee Nut syrup, and a Splenda

I wont take all the credit for this coffee drink. My sister is in her second year of college and sometimes her college budget inspires creativity. This drink has become one of my favorites. I would consider the Toffee Nut syrup a small splurge (being that it isn’t sugar free) but it really makes this drink something special.  If you are looking to be extra “good,” switch out toffee nut for sugar free vanilla or caramel.  Also, sometimes the coffee comes out too dark for my taste.  If this is the case, head over to the do-it-yourself bar and add in some more skim milk, 2%, or creamer.  This is truly a poor man’s latte!

Nonfat Iced Tazo Chai Latte

I love the Iced Chai for its spicy, yet refreshing flavor.  How do they concoct this magic?  The last time I ordered this drink, I became extra nosy so I could find out how they make it.  Apparently the Chai flavoring comes from a concentrated syrup.  Being the stickler I am for knowing exactly what I’m putting in my mouth, I headed over to the Starbucks website to verify I wasn’t inhaling a million calories.  I wasn’t (thank goodness).  In fact, a tall Iced Chai Latte contains 150 calories and 0 grams of fat.  Not too bad!

What are some of your favorite caffeinated summer iced drinks (Starbucks or otherwise)?

Tip: I was in a Starbucks today and sampled the new Starbucks Iced Via Ready Brew. I was REALLY  surprised how great it was!  If you don’t have time (or extra cash) to stop into Starbucks daily but still need your fix, I think this might be your answer.  Simply pour the packets into cold water, shake, fix to your liking and enjoy! Be your own Barista 🙂

3 Responses to “The Secret To My (Summer) Success: Iced Skinny Starbucks drinks on the cheap”

  1. Chef Dennis July 20, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    I use to spend so much money at starbucks for espresso, my wife finally bought me an espresso maker and bean grinder…now I hardly ever drink it…go figure…
    but I still like going into one of their stores and just relaxing….sometimes I think thats what I am paying for

    • skinny101grly July 21, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      I’m a bit of a caffeine addict. I have a nespresso maker that is amazing and I still manage to spend tons of money at Starbucks!

  2. katie o. July 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    the coffee bean (out west) makes the most amazing summer drink- it’s just the vanilla iced blended. unfortunately, there’s no coffee bean in the southeast so i had to find something similar at the ‘bucks.

    It’s the caffee vanilla frappuccino light blended…and it’s fantastic.
    by the way, if you visit starbucks’ website, they have this great little “treat”:
    http://www.starbucks.com/blog/13263/a-cup-of-low-cal-goodness

Leave a Reply

