Fish Oil Follower

15 Jul

A couple of weeks ago, I was in our local drug store shopping for a multivitamin when another product caught my eye. It was packaged in a cute, eye-catching box and said “Mood Stabilizer for Women.” I quickly grabbed the package and scanned the side to find the main ingredient, which turned out to be fish oil. I never really knew why people took fish oil, just that stores sold it (so people must be taking it). I started to do my research and was quite surprised by the results. Turns out, this stuff contains DHA and EPA (essential fatty acids) thought to help stabilize mood and possibly curb depression. Another interesting benefit of fish oil is its potential to prevent certain cancers.

After reading this stuff I thought, WHERE DO I SIGN UP? I’ve been taking it for a couple weeks and so far so good. What are your experiences with fish oil?

6 Responses to “Fish Oil Follower”

  1. CINDY ASHLEY MILLER July 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Hi, Skinny…i am 24 and have been taking natural fish oil for years….usually 2000mg. a day…besides all of the research which u (and i) uncovered, i find that my mood becomes “less pleasant” in a very subtle way, when i have gone without my fish oil, for more than a day or two…

    My outlook on things seems a bit “more positive” with the fish oil…but, as i said above, in a subtle, immeasureable way…

  2. skinny101grly July 15, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Hi Cindy! I would tend to agree. I’m more “pleasant” when I get my fish oil then when I go without.

    • inspiredcyclist July 18, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      I take it off and on, as sometimes they upset my stomach. Interestingly, I was at the eye dr. just two days ago, and she noticed my eyes are a little dry and suggested fish oil capsules.

      • skinny101grly July 18, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

        It seems the magic of fish oil is endless!

  3. blue July 18, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    I have been on fish oil on and off, I’m not sure if my mood change is directly related to it or not (since I only take it in the morning after I exercise and have time left before the morning commute, positive mood change may be related to getting up early, exercising, or having enough time in the morning.)

    Looks like I have to untangle up these three things to see the real impact. Let us know what impact it has on you…

    • skinny101grly July 18, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

      I tend to agree that it’s hard to give the fish oil all the credit for being a good mood. I too exercise daily which I’m sure contributes to being in better spirits. I guess only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

